Apologies

I am sorry, oh so very sorry. It has been ages since I last published something; anything. Life, studies, work, crises; happiness and sadness and chilly autumn days following an incredibly warm summer (both in Europe and the Americas!) The thing is, sometimes so much is happening and so much needs to be said, it is impossible to make any sense of it all.

“The kingdom of heaven suffers violence and the violent take it by force”, declares Matthew 11:12. I must confess I have never quite grasped the whole meaning of this Scripture. However, it comes to mind often, these days. Now more than ever I feel it, and by feeling I mean truly feeling it; in my guts, on my skin, in the passive desperation that so easily and so often overcomes some of us living in this globalized, yet dehumanized – and dare I say spiritless – world. Whenever this happens and I feel I can’t take it any longer, it is then I am most compelled to endlessly listen to music, to hear my words spoken by others, to find solace in their findings, their observations; in the silent agreement between listener and the one listened to.

Soothing repetition? predictable phrases? (for I have listened to them thousands of times) encouraging beats lending me some of the singer’s courage to face life just one more day? Whatever it is that’s contained in music, it reminds me that we all are capable of seeing, saying and acting out truth, regardless of our religious, social or endless other inclinations. That we choose to or not to do it is another matter. It is, upon being reminded of such thing, that my hope is rekindled. I probably still disagree with many ideas, positions and ways of life out there; I still believe, in my heart of hearts – especially as I witness my generation, different eye color, skin tone, clothes or language around throughout the world, yet still my generation – God is the final hope for humanity, and still I am able to see that we’ve all “got it” within us: the basic ability to perceive, receive and utter truth which, in turn may foster love, create trust and enable faith that may lead us to get our act together.

All that to say, yes, I have been busy and yes, many things concern me – some of them not even remotely related to Sweden – yet that’s no excuse for being absent for so long. (side note: I’ve seriously considered whether I should drop blogging, due my lack of commitment) so in an attempt to redeem myself a bit, I offer you “the ultimate list of songs echoing my thoughts or lifting my spirits lately”. Perhaps you’ll find more meaning and better messages in them than throughout this rant.

Enjoy!

p.s. There are a couple ones in Swedish… you know, so as to keep the blog’s overall theme somewhat alive. ;)

– in Swedish –

Vera Nord – Visan om mig

Laleh – En stund på jorden

Laleh – Mamma

Thomas Stenström – Slå mig hårt i ansiktet

Laleh – Vårens första dag

Laleh – Goliat

– in Sámi (joiking included) –

Sofia Jannok – Viviann (Bievá biette Viviann)

Sofia Jannok – Irene

– in Spanish (close to my heart, thinking of Mexico, these days) –

Eugenia Leon – Latinoamérica

Ismael Serrano – Rebelion en Hamelin

Jorge Drexler – Noctiluca

Natalia Lafourcade et. al Derecho de nacimiento

Santiago Benavides – Gracias a Dios Por La Vida

– in English –

Laleh – Boom

Laleh – Samuel

JJ Heller – Love Can Make You New

Kings Of Convenience – Homesick

Caleb – We Will Wait

Josh Garrels – The Children’s Song

– in Danish –

Rasmus Seebach – Øde Ø

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apologies

  1. Sara says:

    Laleh’s Värens första dag.
    I listened to it 2 days ago. I remembered randomly ending up on its YouTube video more than a year ago and deciding it was one of those songs that always cheer me up.
    Two days ago I decided I needed to re-listen to it and looked for that same YouTube video.
    What can I say? Welcome back!
    Funny how I’m commenting here instead of trying to resurrect my own blog. I had actually logged in with the intent of seeing if I could finally come up with something to write on the blog. Last month I had a computer snafu accident and more or less haven’t blogged since. Ops!
    In the past I had tried various techniques:
    – post drafts with strings of ideas, so that when I have more to write about them the post is already there, easier to finalise. It worked 2 times in total. I have another 7 or 8 drafts waiting.
    – create the weekly crazy story rubrique. Mmm… that worked for about 3 weeks. Then the computer died and I started thinking I should turn the weekly post into a monthly post.

    Then I log in now and instead of writing I get distracted reading what other fellow bloggers write, ha!

    Anyway… Oroa inte. Det blir bättre. Och även om det blir inte, du kan alltid lyssna på Laleh’s Vårens första dag ;-)
    Next comment I’ll look for some Bible verse in Swedish to send you. That might work as well :-)
    I have an old Swedish Bible I never read because I’d need to do it with the English one next to it (did I mention I’m a bit demotivated lately?)

    Anyway n.2… Did I make you laugh? :-D

    Now seriously, welcome back :-)

    • Alex says:

      Ha ha ha, Sara! Ja, du verkligen fick mig att skratta lite – eller mycket! – och jag kunde spegla mig i din upplevelse, OCH, nu när jag pratar och skriver lite mer flyttande på svenska (och trots att jag stadigblanda det med danska, blir det också extra roligt att svara på kommentarerna :) ) Jag har också försköt många tekniker för att bli bättre med “consistency” men utan lycka. Kanske handlar det inte om att skriva en helt fantastisk “post” varje gång, utan att bara skriva och publicera den (åtminstone i början) Vad tycker du?

      Nu, om du tillåter mig, bara några punkter om svenskan (och såklart lärar jag mig språket fortfarande också):
      – Oroa dig inte.
      – (…) och även om det inte blir (It’s about this being a subordinate sentence, in which case the adverb comes before the verb, don’t ask me why. It just does!)
      – Svenskarna brukar inte använda “apostrof” när de pratar om possessiva artiklar, som “Laleh’s song”. Då ska det vara “Lalehs”

      Forhöppningsvis förolämpa jag dig inte med dessa kommentarer :)

      Tack for välkommen

      • Sara says:

        Super roligt! Tusen tack för dina förklaringar. Jag alltid (alltid!) glömmer att “proofread” vad jag skriver och “that word order thing” är en lite mysterium för mig. Jag försöker att skriva på svenska utan ordlista etc. och om är jag inte säker, jag improviserar. Kanske jag måste läsa bocker på svenska oftare eller titta på filmer. Nu är jag i Italien (I do remember the tidpukt rule, though) och jag hittade inte en svensk klubb här eller svenskarna jag kan prata och träna min svenska med… Boooo :-(

        Jag tror att man skulle inte försöker att skriva den perfekt inlägg. Vi bara följer inspiration och skriver. Om inspirationen kommer inte, “peace” ;-)

        OK, the braincell is a bit tired now. It’s too early in the morning. I need another coffee, I’m afraid.
        How did it go this time? ;-)

        Good to see you write again and heck, grattis för din svenska!

  2. Alex says:

    Hej på dig, Sara! Förlåt att jag inte skrivit förr, men var upptagen med så många såker. Din svenska är jätte bra, och jag tycker att det med dig att skriva utan ordlista är faktiskt en brå ide, för då lärar du dig att lita på dig sjalv. Det jag försokar är att skriva först utan ordlista, och då, korrekturläsa, speciellt för att jag ofta stava ord några ord på danska i stället!

    Der finns inte heller svenska klubb hit (eller jag inte har hittat det) men du få läsa och titta på svenska tv, i alla fall. Jag tittar ofta på svt (svt.se), fast man inte få titta på alla program om man inte befinner sig i Sverige, desutom få man titta på manga.

    Så…ja… nu måste jag dra, men hoppas att få “inspiration” för ett nytt inlägg snart.

    jamen… GOD JUL och GODT NYTT ÅR!

Leave a Reply

