Mundane Monday…

So… today was as mundane a day as it could possibly be. I’ve started to “panic” (not really, but I did devote much time today to the issue), for I have not planned any traveling, and my time in Europe seems to extinguish rather quickly; I’ve also started panicking at the fact of having to go back to Mexico, with a packed bag. Even though I am definitely not a shopaholic, I’ve acquired “goods” while in Denmark, and now I’m starting to seriously doubt I’ll be able to get it all in my ONE piece of checked luggage…oops. We will see.

In any case, in order to stave off – somehow, to some extent – some of the over-pondering taking place these days, I decided to just go with the flow today, and live as if I were never to leave Denmark (Someone has just recently helped me to put things into perspective, realizing that it’s true; there really is no way to know what will happen in the future, so all we can do is enjoy the ride).

As part of such a “macabre plan” – that is, the living as if I were not leaving – I went to the library and looked for the most trivial reading material I could possibly find (besides “Being Digital”, book about, well… digital “stuff” nowadays. What can be simpler than a bunch of “00111110000111001010101000111001011011011111”). It was all going well until I stumbled upon a TIME magazine*. Its main article talked about immigrants; particularly refugees. Since I’m now an immigrant, even if perhaps for only a limited time, I’m interested in anything and everything related to the topic, so I picked the aforementioned magazine and began reading.

Well, let’s put it this way: When you read about the millions and millions and millions of people living without the most basic necessities covered, fighting – literally – for their lives, cramped in tiny apartments /jail cells / detention centers cells for months and years without end, your worries and plans and “issues” suddenly become all the more bearable. Then thinking about the future is not nearly as important as it is for these people; then worrying about the pair of shoes I “need”, my luggage difficulties, my dark gray lost sock, or where I’ll go – FOR PLEASURE – soon, is not even remotely important.

Today I am grateful, and beyond blessed for being, today, in Copenhagen Denmark, sheltered under the roof of this white, cozy house, somewhere in Vanløse.

*TIME Magazine | Vol. 176, No. 1 | July 5, 2010

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mundane Monday…

  1. Baf says:

    Wow, doesn’t the L-RD have a way of putting things into perspective. I think it is ironic, (or maybe the L-RD just wanted to see if I would notice ) that you while you were pondering the future the L-RD lead you to “Time” magazine. “Time”, the minutes in each day not the magazine, is truly a gift we take for granted. No dis on the magazine, just an observation on the value we need to place on each moment we are given, and truly see the blessings that surround us. We truly need to have hearts of gratitude. I can almost hear Maria from the sound of Music singing, “raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens” :0) Seriously, today I have much to be thankful for, and dear Ale, being able to walk with you (at least electronically) in Denmark is one of them!

Leave a Reply

